U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-23-2011, 05:44 AM

2 posts, read 3,392 times

Advertisements

I am new to Chicago. I am interested in buying a house in Midwest Club in Oak Brook. I don't want to miss some details or unknown issues. Can someone give me some insight about the neighborhood and the community? Thanks in advance of your valuable input.
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-23-2011, 06:12 AM

28,383 posts, read 67,919,335 times
Like many subdivisions in Oak Brook Midwest Club is preferred by those for whom a gated community and large well separated homes are paramount. It is mostlynserved by the well regarded Oak Brook Distict 53 schools however a few homes are in the Doowners Grove school district whichntends to have higher taxes and lower performance.

As a gated community it tends to have very high association costs as all road maintenance, landscaping of common areas and entrance security has to be paid. It also has an expensive outdoor swimming pool that is underutilized.

Many well off people of sout asian extraction seem drawn to the subdivision. It tends not to be as popular with folks of more traditional European heritage.

It is not particularly popular among families with younger children -- despite the low density of homes the culdesac layout tends to result in larger front / side yards and "play area" is decreased.