Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-05-2008, 01:51 PM

7,098 posts, read 8,862,892 times

Advertisements

I am a 36 year old professional gay black male relocating from Memphis Tn in mid summer. I don't have too much time to shop around the metro for a place and most people have recommended Oak Park due to the diversity, cost of living and close proximity to work.

One of my questions is how is the commute at 7 am to Hillside. I realise that it is going away from the city but most metropolitan areas have a reverse commute. Is it that way in Chicago? Will owning a car in Oak Park be a hassle?

How easy is it to find affordable housing in OP (1bdrm under 1k) in a safe diverse fun district? If someone has any recommendations please advise.

I realise that OP is not in the city and will not give the same vibe as some of the thriving Chicago neighborhoods but is it safe to walk to the grocery store or to the health club at night after work or are the streets pretty dead?

I will be making a short visit at the end of the month for orientation and to find an apartment are there any particular streets that I need to be weary of or must see streets?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-05-2008, 02:09 PM

5,523 posts, read 13,882,320 times