Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-09-2015, 09:31 PM

554 posts, read 2,501,494 times

Advertisements

Hello!

I'm a recent college grad that will be starting a career in financial services in the Loop. As my username suggests, I currently live in the Chicago area, but I'm in Northwest Indiana. There's not much in the way of a substantial young, professional crowd out here, and I'm ready to move from under my family's wings. I'm single and childless, so the family oriented feel isn't for me at this point in my life. I'm also looking to move closer to the loop, or at least an area with easy public/commuter transportation.

I'm most familiar with the South Side, but there aren't too many areas I'd consider moving to. The main options were Hyde Park & South Loop/Near South Side. Hyde Park is great, but I'd really prefer to live a bit closer to the train (the Red & Green lines are nearby, but that's not a walk I'd be looking forward to). South Loop is also nice, but way out of my price range as far as what I'm looking for.

I also considered Oak Park/River Forest/Forest Park, but there seems to be a limited number of options in my price range with the amenities I'm looking for. Plus, OP taxes are definitely on the high side. I'm looking to buy while the low interest rates are still around.