Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-23-2018, 12:13 AM

424 posts, read 466,178 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone!

I am a design professional working in architecture. I currently live and work in San Francisco but I am considering job offers with design firms in Chicago.

I also am enticed by the idea of purchasing a home in a Chicago neighborhood that has historic housing stock, is relatively safe, but hasn't quite gentrified yet.

So far, I have been looking at the Little Village area for some time and will be in town soon to look at some properties there. However, one of my concerns is safety. Online I have read that Little Village has some degree of gang activity and shootings.

As a professional who will be commuting to and from the loop by public transit (I don't have a car in SF and don't plan on having one in Chicago), would Little Village be a wise place to invest in a first home and put down roots?

Disclosure, I am also 100% of Mexican heritage (albeit 4th generation Mexican-American) so I do have some degree of familiarity with Mexican culture - i.e. catholicism and cuisine, etc.

Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-23-2018, 08:57 AM

1,748 posts, read 2,580,285 times