U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-22-2008, 02:26 PM

19 posts, read 50,692 times

Advertisements

I have lived overseas in Mexico and South America since I graduated college and I have decided to move to Chicago. While I lived outside the US I would always wind up going to Chicago for various shopping trips and for my visits back to the US.

Someone once said Chicago isn't a city it is a collection of neighborhoods that grew together. I found this to be very true and one of the reasons I kept going back to Chicago and have now decided to move there. Being from Washington DC I enjoyed the cultural diversity that city had and all the things to do. Being from Washington DC I came to appreciate the METRO (Subway) and I have used the CTA in Chicago and while not as new as METRO it works.

I am lucky in the fact that I am basically managing my investments so I will not having to report to an office I work from home. So I am considering what neighborhood I should live in. I like the so called "cultural diversity" that Hyde Park proclaims when I lived in Washington DC I lived in Takoma Park which was very diverse culturally. However, I also like Lakeview too because of its proximity to downtown. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-22-2008, 02:40 PM

102 posts, read 266,459 times