Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-02-2009, 07:31 AM

4,006 posts, read 6,036,840 times

Advertisements

A couple of quick questions:

1) we pay a nanny cash every week and do not take out any taxes nor do we provide any benefits other than time off with pay. I don't know if she pays taxes on these earnings or not. I don't believe she has a social security card. Can I deduct any of this?

2) I work in sales but have a home office. What can I deduct from the home office?

3) What are some other common deductions that people miss?

I got hit by the AMT last year to the tune of 4 digits and I did not enjoy that. Want to avoid it this year.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-02-2009, 07:41 AM

15,586 posts, read 27,602,442 times
It sounds like you need to hire an accountant.

Old 04-02-2009, 11:15 AM

98 posts, read 345,109 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by lenniel View Post

1) we pay a nanny cash every week and do not take out any taxes nor do we provide any benefits other than time off with pay. I don't know if she pays taxes on these earnings or not. I don't believe she has a social security card. Can I deduct any of this?

2) I work in sales but have a home office. What can I deduct from the home office?

I got hit by the AMT last year to the tune of 4 digits and I did not enjoy that. Want to avoid it this year.
Thanks in advance.