Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 02:38 PM

226 posts, read 382,041 times

Advertisements

I was just wondering if we could get an update on the job market here in Chicago. My husband and I graduated in the summer of 2008 (obviously, the brink of the recession). It was so dire we had to move out of state (back in with our parents). After saving some money we just recently moved back to Chicago a few weeks ago, but we still haven't found jobs yet.

My husband has gotten straight A's his entire life. He studied in Switzerland for a year, he's travelled to 4 different continents, he has a B.A. and M.A in International Relations from the University of Chicago...I don't understand why someone w/ his qualifications cannot find a job. What the f*** is going on?!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-29-2010, 02:50 PM

15,586 posts, read 27,612,634 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bardot View Post
...It was so dire we had to move out of state (back in with our parents). After saving some money we just recently moved back to Chicago a few weeks ago, but we still haven't found jobs yet...
You should have stayed with your parents longer. It is much worse now than in 2008. I wish you both luck.

Old 06-29-2010, 02:53 PM

3,339 posts, read 5,989,780 times
Quote: