U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Easter!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Cincinnati
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-14-2013, 01:15 PM

17 posts, read 35,455 times

Advertisements

Greetings, oh knowledgeable wise ones! I am a current resident of the Cincinnati area (Lebanon) though I've only been here a few years. I've looked through the newcomers sticky, but since I don't need such specific advice, I'll only answer the relevant parts. I have searched through the forum for info on these two areas, and gotten some answers to other questions, but my question here remains.

I'm planning to move this summer, and want to be closer to the city (and to work in NKY). Since my criteria include all of the following:

- Great school district - I'm not entirely convinced that Lebanon's schools are "excellent" enough (though I see how hard many of the teachers and parents are trying). And is it just my interpretation, or are schools getting the "with distinction" moniker simply due to improvement? If a school is already close to perfect, and thus has no room to grow, is it not granted this extra superlative?

- Super safe neighborhood - a la "Oh, is it 1 am already? I think I'll go walk the dog!"

- Reasonable proximity to shopping/dining - The 25+ minute drive from northern Lebanon to any nice restaurants or shopping has gotten old. This is often heard in my house: "Hey, let's go out to eat! What do we want?"..."Nah, that'll take an hour round trip...so will that...so will that..".... "Hey, who wants cereal for dinner?"