U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Cincinnati
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-07-2013, 07:25 PM

4 posts, read 11,004 times

Advertisements

So, I'm a transplant to Cincinnati as of approximately 9 months ago, for a new job (I work in the IT/tech sector for what it's worth). I'll admit that I talked to friends in my previous city (Minneapolis) about the prospect of relocating to Cincinnati and the vast majority of them were advising me against it, for a variety of reasons. I certainly did have my hang ups about it as well, but I visited in the beginning of July last year, figured that I will try and approach anything with an open mind and would give it a shot, since it was worth it (at least from the standpoint of the job offer as it was a step up both in terms of what I'd be doing, as well as the pay).

Fast forward to August/early September, and I found myself in an apartment (and actually made a couple of friends the first day of living here, who live not far from me thanks to getting connected via a friend of mine in Minneapolis) in the Clifton gaslight district. From there, I began to get to know some more people and discovered a few things about Cincinnati that definitely exceeded my expectations, while similarly finding many things that failed my expectations or confirmed what some of my friends had told me about.