U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Cincinnati
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-31-2013, 09:30 AM

1 posts, read 919 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some insight on how to find a job in my field since I've been sending in my résumé to many places for six months and haven't heard back.

I'm in the process of getting my bachelors from University of Phoenix and have been using indeed.com and monster to find places to apply.

It's frustrating because your think I would have at least gotten a generic email saying thanks for the application... But not a word!

I'm unsure where to go from here so I'm open to ideas!

Thanks a bunch,
Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-31-2013, 12:36 PM

50 posts, read 65,434 times
Have you been applying to the generic company HR sites, or have you been able to get a direct contact? If possible, I would try to get a direct contact; you won't fall into the "online application" abyss, and it is much easier to follow up on. Sometimes you can find them on company websites, especially if they are advertising jobs "in demand." Otherwise, you might need to work some contacts.

Not sure if you have specific companies in mind, or what your exact IT experience is, but Cincinnati Children's has a ton of postings for IT right now.

Old 07-31-2013, 04:01 PM

477 posts, read 529,700 times
Quote:
I'm in the process of getting my bachelors from University of Phoenix and have been using indeed.com and monster to find places to apply.