Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-30-2011, 01:10 AM

95 posts, read 258,452 times

Advertisements

So I currently live in Seattle where I'm still an out of state resident for tuition purposes until next year, so I can't afford the tuition here. I really don't want to wait until next year to go back to school, so I thought about going back to California where I might could start school immediately if I still have California residency (because I lived there for 3 years), or going back to Texas where I'm originally from and my folks still live so I qualify for in state tuition there too. So I could stay in Seattle but I can't go back to school til next year. Or go to Oakland possibly, but the Bay area is more expensive. Or go to Austin, but I hear you need a car to comfortably get around there. What should I do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-30-2011, 02:41 PM

1,717 posts, read 4,649,491 times
Seattle and Austin are both great places to live. Oakland itself isn't all that great, but you can find places in and around Oakland that are very nice. UW and UT are right in the heart of the respective cities. I would look to the quality of the school's degree program that suits your needs. That and where do you want to live? If you are planning on living in TX, then a UT degree is more valuable than a UW degree and vice versa.

Old 03-30-2011, 02:51 PM

994 posts, read 1,830,486 times