U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-16-2015, 11:15 AM

34 posts, read 24,411 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone. I am a long time reader of these message boards, but this is my first time posting. I have a question. How come Newark, NJ does not get the same attention as other cities that have similar population sizes, such as St. Louis and Pitts. I mean Newark, for not being the center of its metro area, has major amenities that other major cities have: a major airport, the largest port on the East coast or at least in the North East, major cultural institutions, a great collection of institutions of higher education, a world class arena, a good collection of white collar jobs. I do realize that the city, being so close to NYC, gets overlooked . Though, from the looks of it it is a major city, and if you did take NYC away the Newark area has been calculated as being around 3 million. So again, just because I am curious, why does Newark not get the same attention as cities that have comparable populations?

P.S. I apologize if this has been discussed before. I have only really dabbled in this forum as I have actually really been active in the NJ section (in terms of reading not actually being in the discussions).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-16-2015, 02:03 PM

888 posts, read 1,071,817 times