U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-17-2015, 01:33 PM

4 posts, read 3,948 times

Advertisements

Hello all, thank you in advance for answering my questions. My wife and I live in Kansas *holds for boos* and are considering moving to the Northwest. My wife is a nurse in the Pediatric ICU here and there are a ton of children's hospitals up there plus we love the nature aspect. Right now I work in government in a project management/marketing role but my background is a hodgepodge of social services, government, research, and development. We are looking specifically at Seattle and Portland/Vancouver. We both love to snowboard and hike and we have two German shepherds. I have a couple questions that I would be very appreciative if I could get some feedback on.

1. I know that both of the areas have close access to snowboarding, but which one is closer to the major snowboarding spots? And which has the longest season that's more consistent (I know that depends on climate change and snow pack)?

2. We also love to hike and I know that Portland has a lot of great parks inside the city, but we love to go to the mountains (which now is a 10 hour drive) for both dayhiking and backpacking. Which city has the best access to traditional mountain dayhiking and backpacking?