U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-19-2018, 11:37 AM

1 posts, read 622 times

Advertisements

I am planning to move back to the US after spending the last 5 years in France. The only problem is, I don't quite know where to start. I majored in Computer Science and minored in Cybersecurity, so I would need to live in a place with Tech jobs (or I could telecommute, but that is another topic). Most of America's tech cities are very expensive (SanFran, Seattle, Boston, ect), so I would like some advice on finding something at least a little more manageable (mid size probably).

What I would Like:
Tech Jobs
A Strong Art Community (I do ballet, so a good ballet company is a must)
Homes (preferably with a yard) that are somewhat affordable ($500k max)
Parks and Greenspaces, If possible some lakes or ocean access
Low Violent Crime Rate (I live alone, so this is fairly important)
LGBT friendly

What I would Prefer to Avoid:
Hot Weather
High Rates of Violent Crime
Boredom (I'm not really a bar/club kind of girl, but I would like something to do)

Bonus Points for alternative fashion and good tea houses.

If it helps, I have family in TN and NJ who may be able to help I find a place.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-19-2018, 11:43 AM

948 posts, read 1,145,677 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAQuestion827 View Post