U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-18-2011, 07:48 AM

8 posts, read 11,352 times

Advertisements

I am a single mother of two who would like to relocate to Wilmington, NC. My main concern is finding another job. Right now, I work in Marketing. I'm not sure because i would like to purchase a home for me and my boys in Wilmington, but I don't want to move down here just to find that I can't find a job.

Does anyone have any advice for me? What steps should I take to relocate? Find a job first or buy a home first?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-18-2011, 07:50 AM

22,769 posts, read 26,252,516 times
i don't think it is possible to get a mortgage without a job. So, unless you have about $150,000 in cash laying around, i'd get a job first.

Old 03-18-2011, 08:09 AM

8 posts, read 11,352 times
^^^OK, I understand. Makes sense. I guess my question is...I would like to relocate to Wilmington, but I have never gone through the process before, so I am a dummy. I needed at least step one.

Does Wilmington have a good economy? Can I find a marketing job? I earn $62,000 a year now...can I expect to make comporable to that in NC?

Old 03-18-2011, 08:45 AM

22,769 posts, read 26,252,516 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beans4reezy View Post
^^^OK, I understand. Makes sense. I guess my question is...I would like to relocate to Wilmington, but I have never gone through the process before, so I am a dummy. I needed at least step one.