U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-06-2007, 02:59 PM

59 posts, read 439,302 times

Advertisements

Hello All
I am seriously considering a move to Ahoskie. I have read some threads that were very helpful but I do have additional questions. What kind of shopping is in the area? What is are the best and worst parts of town. Now here is where I stand. For the most part I will be commuting from Virginia to NC, I am also a dreadlock stylist and I am not against moving in a depressed area that has potential. I have a nine year old son and I just finished my foster parent training so that I can have another little boy. I moved my son and I from New York to Virginia because I had family here but then they moved to Charlotte. Me and my son have been in VA for 5 years now and living in the Commonwealth is draining me. The cost of real estate is just plain crazy, especially when the same two bedroom townhouses that were once $85k are now priced at $175k and better. WHAT!! That's just crazy talk. For my boys I'd like a semi-rural area where I can buy them ATV's and let them run, play and live freely like kids should. My son will never know what it is like to live in New York, to just be restricted to sitting on someones stoop in the summer, not being able to play with his Radio controlled cars and things because they might hit someone's car and set off the alarm, the notorious get hit by a car while playing in the street (all NYers had at least one friend that was hit by a car) and the most favorite, metal detectors in public and priva