U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-01-2012, 02:20 AM

14 posts, read 19,580 times

Advertisements

I will be relocating to the area in a couple short months and looking for some input on where the nicer areas to live are. I am a nurse and will hopefully be working in Wilmington, and my BF is in the Navy and will be stationed at Camp LeJeune. We are looking for something middle class, clean, safe, and somewhat close to the basic necessities (a grocery store, beach, minor shopping). We definitely want to be in a home, no apartments or condos. Anyone have any suggestions for us?!

Thanks in advance!!!
Quick reply to this message

Old 07-01-2012, 07:06 AM

11,469 posts, read 20,490,392 times
You are fortunate, as there is Hampstead and Surf City between your two workplaces. Many neighborhoods will suit your needs, but there is more shopping going towards Hampstead. Depending on whether you buy or rent and your budget, you might look at Dogwood Lakes, Olde Point, The Villages at Topsail Island, etc. My area in Mimosa Bay in Sneads Ferry is very nice. We have limited basic shopping, no doctor, but great seafood, and the beach is 3 miles away. Most of the residents are military families, and very friendly.

Old 07-01-2012, 07:41 AM

196 posts, read 510,149 times