U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-25-2015, 06:33 PM

8 posts, read 8,811 times

Advertisements

Hi all,
This is my first post here so I'll try and be thorough as I've read many comments by senior members on here with requests to be more descriptive re type of person/lifestyle and needs/wants.
I am a single (well I will be when I move) 47 yr/o Mom with a 12 yr/o Son and I am considering moving to the Wilmington area in about a year. I am a disabled Army Veteran, not a wounded warrior but suffered injury on active duty. I'm still a functional person, just unable to work as a nurse as I have been in the past. I am originally from CA, spent 5 years near Savannah GA (Ft Stewart area) , I've lived all over the US throughout my life. I did live in Myrtle Beach, actually Little River, SC for a year but that's been 25+ years ago...Where does the time go? Also lived briefly around Greensboro, NC near the same time period but only for a few months (Desert Storm time, husband at the time was deployed , I stayed with friends) I loved that year in MB but hey, I was 23 and single, different time/life. I spent 12 years living in Maryland/DC metro area. I was stationed at Walter Reed. I really disliked living there, the millions of ppl ....the MILLIONS of ppl! We did finally settle in Frederick County MD which is much more rural once out of city limits and much more country with kind, friendly ppl and with city amenities nearby. Loved that! BUT, I currently live in West Virginia, for 2 1/2+ years and I MISS the ocean!