Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-25-2012, 06:12 PM

10 posts, read 19,270 times

Advertisements

Hi! I've been reading lots of threads on here about relocating to your area. We'll be moving to Beaufort in June, and I still have a few questions that I would love to hear resident opinions about.

We have 2 children, one will be in 2nd grade, one will be in 6th grade. My husband has military orders to the area, and I'm an elementary teacher. Does anyone have any experience with Beaufort Elementary and Middle Schools? I read the few reviews posted on greatschools.org, but I'm not sure where else to look for information. When we called the schools with a few questions, they were very friendly and helpful.

I would just love to hear any details/opinions about the area. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-26-2012, 06:23 AM

3,065 posts, read 8,895,302 times
Especially with the possibility that your sixth grader would be in high school, I would not live in Beaufort. Beaufort is great to retire to, wonderful to visit, but you'll have better education options in other areas. Do you have a job? If so what school will you be working at? Which base will your husband be working at?

Without knowing that info, I'd suggest Morehead City, Newport, and Havelock if he's stationed in Cherry Point. Cape Carteret, Swansboro, Hamsptead, or on-base housing/DOD schools if he's stationed in Lejeune.