U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-02-2017, 06:23 PM

414 posts, read 1,152,807 times

Advertisements

Greetings!

I'm a former resident of Wilmington (twice) and am familiar with Hampstead/Topsail/Holly Ridge. I'm looking to return to the area, but not to the areas mentioned. This go 'round I have two elementary school-aged children with me. I am not familiar with Southport, but am interested in the area. I'm used to tourist traffic and dead winters. That doesn't phase me. What I am interested in is feedback on Southport schools, crime and rental opinions in the area. Preferably single family homes. Max budget would be $1300.

I know these are common questions and rest assured I did search (AND READ! ) the forum. Most of the threads of interest are from last summer and older.

So hit me, regulars! I seek your knowledge!

Thanks!!
CeCe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-03-2017, 06:42 AM

6,800 posts, read 4,429,472 times
Southport is extremely safe and low crime. Southport elementary school is average to slightly above average. As long as you are involved with your children, they can get a good education there. Rentals are tight, but they do exist in your price range. You'll need to look aggressively and be prepared to jump when one pops up.