U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 07:46 AM

3 posts, read 16,389 times

Advertisements

Hi!

This is my first time posting to this site. I am interested in moving to Coastal NC and looking for a town that has access to healthy organic foods and are health-conscious (i.e interest in alternative medicine and yoga, etc.). I have heard good things about Wilmington and I am also interested in other possible towns. Does any one have suggestions?

Also, what is the job market like for a yoga teacher/herbalist, and her government cartographer boyfriend? I am curious because we will both need to work and make similar salaries to what we are making in the Washington, DC area (I make $30k and he makes $75k). Are there similar financial opportunities in the coastal NC area? What cities/coastal towns do you recommend?

Blessings~
Ashley
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-27-2008, 09:53 AM

8,575 posts, read 6,356,646 times
hi ashley, the job market on the coast is very soft right now due to the fact that it has mostly service oriented jobs. let me tell you from experience, you will make much less money in a coastal town in NC than you are making in DC. I would say that the jobs pay at least 40% less in wilmington. your best chance at getting a similar paying job and living closer to the coast would be to consider a town like norfolk. that area of VA is very big and much less expensive than wilmington.

Old 03-27-2008, 10:38 AM

5,371 posts, read 9,866,638 times
Hi Ashley,