U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-30-2008, 09:58 PM

467 posts, read 1,693,005 times

Advertisements

Hey, all,
I'm a college student, but a few years down the road I plan to move to the Wilmington area. Eventually I really want to open a retail store, selling home accessories, stationary, gifts, etc, and also recovered furniture and repurposed junk (I want to hire a team of young people who basically spend their day being artists, making, like, a stool out of a garbage can, you know that kind of thing). My style is Jonathan Adler meets beach, kitsch, shabby chic, etc. Ok, maybe that's not your thing, but please don't judge that, just the question. Where do you think a store like that might go over the best? In Wilmington itself, or in a coastal town?

Second part. At first I plan to rent, and I really want to live on the beach. Half mile or less. I also have a dog (and I plan to adopt another after I move) and I read about the dog rules on the beaches, and I was sad to see that Carolina Beach only allows dogs for a mere 4 months, while Kure Beach and others allow them except during high season, and some allow them year round leashed. So that has to be part of the consideration, that if I live so close to the beach, I want to be able to take my dog there whenever I want, but I'll put up with not being able to during high season at best. Also maybe someone could tell me about how well these rules are enforced.