U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Coastal North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-20-2009, 09:52 AM

109 posts, read 206,017 times

Advertisements

I haven't visited this part of the NC forum before so I will take a look in a minute for related threads, but I wanted to get some help, if possible.

My husband and I are originally from New England, and we moved to Charlotte when he got an IT job in June. He's a database developer for a legal services firm currently, and before that, he worked as a database administrator for a hospital in NE. I'm an elementary teacher.

While we like Charlotte a lot, we realized that we'd like to be closer to the coast. When we lived in New England, we always lived within 30 min. - 1.5 hours from the water, and we loved it. Here in Charlotte, we're pretty land-locked (and living near man-made lakes made by energy companies don't count in our book).

We've never ventured outside of the Charlotte area, so I'm wondering if we'd find what we're looking for if we were to move to the NC coast. We wouldn't move unless we both had new positions. Here's what we'd ideally like. Do you think that moving would be a good thing to consider? We're planning on visiting the Wilmington area so we can see it for ourselves.

* While we're not an overly active/athletic couple, we like to stay busy by exploring our surroundings. We like shopping, going to restaurants and movies, sight seeing by going on day trips, etc.

I appreciate any insight and suggestions/advice you may have for us. Thanks!