U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > College Football
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 02-25-2015, 10:58 AM

12,351 posts, read 7,498,921 times

Advertisements

I've never made a secret of the fact that I am a graduate of Penn State, or that like most collegiate alumni, I have personal circumstances and feelings regarding my bond with my alma mater.

But I have to re-emphasize the fact that the recent suspension of "commentator" Keith Olbermann over some tasteless remarks on PSU's successful (and long-standing) annual charity dance marathon serve to remind us that certain deep resentments were in place long before the Sandusky scandal broke, and that those resentments led to further distortions as the story unfolded.

http://deadspin.com/espn-suspends-ke...ets-1687751753

Long before it all came crashing down, I think a lot of us recognized the risks involved via a failure to re-orient the program as Joe Paterno showed increasing wear and tear from the battle we all face with advancing age.Thise of us who were around from the early days probably better understood that Paterno wasn't fully capable of understanding some of the personal issues college athletes faced as societal mores changed over his 60-year tenure