Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-05-2011, 11:56 AM

8 posts, read 67,201 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I have a Bachelors in Public Administration, however, I am no longer working for the government and wanted to switch career paths.

Anyways, I live in Florida and I'm looking for degrees that could be completed ENTIRELY online. I found a few schools, but they always have a "catch." Their curriculum is either mixed-mode or they require you to show up on campus at some point.

I did find UM-Flint and Dearborn and I was interested in finding out how these school were perceived. Granted, I did find many positive reviews, but also found negative reviews from people saying that Flint/Dearborn grads are not viewed the same way. I don't know how true that is since I do not reside in Michigan (nor will I ever).

I'm sure some of you will say "you're in Florida, what do you care about that?" or "no one in Florida will ever know the difference," but please look at it from my perspective. This will be a big investment on my part since it will be paid for by student loans, I want to know if the degree will be respected, regardless of whether employers recognize the differences in campus or not. I want to know all of the positives and negatives associated with earning a degree from either one of these campuses.

I hope I'm making sense here
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-06-2011, 06:45 AM

27,215 posts, read 43,923,184 times