U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-07-2011, 07:47 PM

9 posts, read 7,481 times

Advertisements

Hi all, Ill try to make this brief

I graduated from a liberal arts school (ranked in the top 20) back in 2009 and I am currently looking to start in a PhD in the sciences (my applications would go out in dec 2012). As you may have guessed, my academic performance during my first couple of years was less than stellar, leaving me with a GPA that doesn't really represent my abilities or level of intelligence. Although I managed to pull a mid 3 during my last two years, my overall gpa sits in the mid 2s. Im not attempting to make excuses for why I didnt do well, but given the following information I was wondering what my chances are of getting into a decent program. My field of interest isnt exactly a common subject, and the programs (as far as I know) are rather competitive.

During my undergrad time, especially in the last two years, I spent a lot of time doing research. I eventually ended up getting a departmental award generally reserved for those who show stellar academics for my research, and will end up with a publication as first author. I would have no problem getting awesome references from my mentor and other department heads from my undergrad institute.