U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-02-2012, 05:45 PM

372 posts, read 456,070 times
Default While you were partying

Been meaning to write this. So a few months ago I got my BA and that quality american college education. I was a transfer student, from a large 30,000+ school to a small school in a big city (see location). It has some reputable departments but nationally not well know. I was *** laude at graduation in december. I did college in 4 years, had help from parents but can carry my own now.

I now have 3 jobs, one is managerial (marketing, logistics, sales), the other is a side job for a start-up non profit that can just now afford to pay me (2 years ago formed). I also have a tourist gig on some weekends (more because I wanted the money and it's 180 from my day job, more face to face interaction).

Bottom line that all three jobs required hours and hours of volunteer time and learning new skills that i started in soph/junior year. For example, I jumped into social media while i was doing another internship!)

Oh and I'm not a business major, but did take more than half a dozen business classes. Oh and I failed a class freshman year, but only because it was my morning class, and I would tell that to anyone. I use, hear, speak spanish in miami everyday, especially at two of my jobs...I'm not of latin origin either.

Smart work, not hard work. But don't be lazy.

Last edited by amIayankee?; 04-02-2012 at 05:48 PM.. Reason: typos