U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-02-2012, 04:19 PM

3 posts, read 30,018 times

Advertisements

Hi.

I am sure this question was asked numerous times here. I am looking for a career change and not quite sure what route would be best to take.

I have a BA in Accounting from one of the colleges in New York. I have around 6 years of accounting related experience. I don't like accounting too much and have been thinking of going back to school to pursue a degree in computer science.

I'd like to find out what is a better option for me right now. Go back to college as a second degree student and obtain a BS in Computer Science or actually go for an MS program. I know I will have to take undergrad level courses (as prerequisites) to finish the MS program. However, since I don't have any background in programming/computing I feel like MS program will be much more difficult and challenging to finish. I have to note that while in school, I will continue working full time and will attend college in the evening. I want to make sure I get a good grasp of the subject matter and for some reason think BS is a better way to go since I would start learning everything from scratch and build my knowledge as I progress through the courses.

I would appreciate any comment or advice on this matter.

Thank you.

PS.