U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 06:50 PM

673 posts, read 2,285,242 times

Advertisements

I am currently going to school for Information Systems. My major is in Database Development. I currently was going to also have my minor in Database Management. The main reason is because some of the classes in my major can be used for my minor. Also, I felt that the database management classes would be very useful since I am going for Database Development and hope to become a Database Administrator.

However, when talking to others, they always say that I should have my minor in Business, Accounting, Finance, or some other field rather than IT. I dont disagree, however, I want to finish my degree and feel the computer classes would be more useful. I have 3-1/2 years experience working at a credit union and am currently working full time and going to school part time, so I have real life work experience but in a design field (Autocad, Catia).

What are your thoughts???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-24-2007, 10:37 AM

605 posts, read 3,216,354 times
Have you thought about a minor in education? This would allow you in the future to get your teaching creditials and teach technology at many levels (i.e. elem, secondary or even college)

Old 10-24-2007, 10:43 AM

2,919 posts, read 7,316,145 times