Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-21-2013, 04:11 PM

3 posts, read 36,033 times

Advertisements

Hello. I'm a freshmen undergraduate (technically, as I would actually be a sophomore if my community college credits fully transferred) at the University of Idaho currently enrolled in the Business Information Systems program here. I'm currently taking the introduction accounting class (I had taken a different intro class in community college which didn't transfer) and I'm glad to say I don't hate it and actually enjoy a lot of it.

To make a long story short, I'm seriously considering majoring in accounting. I am very attracted to the job security and wages, and I enjoy working with budgets and the like. In addition, I am quite good with computers and love technology. I'm not skilled or in any real way proficient at programming, nor am I particularly interested in programming. I just have a "knack" for computers I suppose (I'd say at this point I could easily just go and get the A+ without study if that demonstrates what I mean).

I'd like to get all my 150 hours needed to obtain the CPA out of the way while I'm in the swing of school instead of later.

Fortunately, the business program here is very integrated and a double major in IS and Accounting would require only one extra year.

Similarly, however, the Master's in Accountancy should also only take an extra year after undergraduate study. This program does not require a Bachelor's in accounting.