U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-30-2017, 12:38 AM

278 posts, read 93,194 times

Advertisements

My GF of 3 years just kind of dropped a lot on me tonight. She mentioned wanting to go back to school for a degree in pediatric neuropsychology. Basically, a very specialized niche. She is currently a school psychologist and has been a school administrator also.

Seems like a lot right now. We just moved from Minnesota to Las Vegas. This is my first time leaving my home state. She is 43 and I'm 37. I just made a big career shift 2 years ago and left my hometown to move 2 hours to be with her. She supported my quitting my job/career field all together to do something with much less pay but more enjoyment. My concerns are: still trying to right-side up ourselves financially as I just got done with 2 years of school/part-time work to get into what I'm doing for work. She still has about 65K in student loans (which will jump to about 100K if she leaves the public school sector). I guess more so, I'm worried about 1) moving somewhere MN-like again. AKA, cold, midwestern, etc. Programs are few. Chicago, Philly, and Denver. I could swing Denver I think, but the others hold little to no appeal. 2) the radical adjustment in living standards for the foreseeable future along with more accumulation of debt. That being said, I feel like a selfish jerk as this is really her lifelong dream.

Help. Thoughts of wisdom. Encouragement.

I'm feeling overwhelmed at the moment.
Quick reply to this message

Old 09-30-2017, 03:44 AM