U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-20-2017, 06:31 PM

1,081 posts, read 1,108,825 times

Advertisements

I graduated from one of the best public universities back when tuition was still cheap.
You could screw around, and still not end up too deep in the hole if you didn't have a STEM degree.

But these days, tuition is through the roof, and many kids are graduating with useless degrees. More importantly, bottom ranked private Podunk universities are just as expensive as top ranked ones. And a lot of kids still attend Podunk because they think it will give them a little more advantage.
If you don't graduate from a top university, it's much harder to find a good job. And most jobs you apply for have nothing to do with your degree and do not apply skills, if any, you learned in college.

A lot of kids enter the real world with a 6-figure debt and, from my observations, are still not very intelligent, either because they partied too much, or the school was too crappy to teach them critical thinking skills.

College has become an expensive measuring stick and barrier to entry. You are given the privilege of spending 6 figures just to be considered for decent jobs.

I think it would be better if each job field designed its own aptitude test which all applicants would have to take, instead of requiring them to waste 4 years and a ton of money to obtain a degree.