U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 11-25-2017, 09:20 PM

1 posts, read 476 times

Advertisements

I'm currently a 21-year-old community college student. I started at university in the Fall of 2015, but things didn't go as planned and I dropped out after one semester. I enrolled at a community college the following fall(2016), and I am now in my second year at that college, with plans to transfer to another university next year. However, I'm kind of self-conscious about my age. I was already old for my grade to begin with(October b-day), but with this recent setback, I would be 1 to 2 years older than my classmates at most universities. I really want to transfer to a university where I won't stand out because of my age. For instance, I'll be turning 22 at the beginning of my junior year and 23 at the beginning of my senior year, and I was wondering if anyone on here knew of a college where it's common to turn 22 during junior year and 23 during senior year. I feel like there has to be one college like that in the USA. Thanks in advance.

Old 11-25-2017, 09:48 PM

1,307 posts, read 642,352 times
You are overthinking this. And worrying too much. If you were talking about a 20 to 30 year difference, you might have a real concern. With a ten year difference, you might feel some pressure, but nothing particularly significant.

Just sign me, "Been there, done that." I went BACK to college 20 years after I started, and I started after a year out from high school. Got a bachelor's in 94, instead of 74.