U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-10-2018, 03:28 AM

563 posts, read 238,215 times

Advertisements

Let's instroduce you my educational system so that you can answer my question.

When I studied my "Associates Degree" in Chemical Engineering (is the closer equivalent in the US but this one in Spain is 3 theoretical years), we still had not enrolled in the EHEA: European Higher Education Area. Most of the courses/subjects/classes consisted basically in a final exam that decided if you pass or not. Others (very few) also had assignments, some of them a big assignment that helped to pass the course but still you depended on a final exam, if you failed the exam, you failed the entire course. The limit of number of times you could repeat a final exam or the entire course depended on university, in the first one I was, the hardest engineering University in Spain, this number was simply unlimited, I've even known people who spent more than 8/10 final exams (repeating 4 times the same course). In the second one when I finally got my Associates Degree, this number was limited by 6 that means you could only repeat a course 3 times/3 years.