U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-16-2009, 11:32 AM

13 posts, read 36,104 times

Advertisements

I graduated highschool last year took a little break from school and am now looking to go back... my problem is that i dont know what i want to do with my life career wise. im just looking for some tips on what would be good to look into for a good paying career. let me know ur thoughts
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-16-2009, 11:36 AM

9,000 posts, read 8,949,688 times
I wouldn't choose a career simply based on the income potential.
I would take some time and think about subjects that interest you or a career that would be fulfilling.

Choosing a career based on income potential is asking for trouble.

I would consider going to a community college for an Associate of Arts (it's basically the things you would study your first two years at a four year college and can be transferred) just to have some college classes under your belt and maybe along the way you will have figured it out.
Community college is much cheaper and you're not just shelling out a bunch of money at a four year college with no idea of what you want to do.

http://www.unl.edu/careers/explore/assess.shtml (broken link) might be of some help to you.

You can also do certain assessments that require certain passwords and such from your school once you get in college but the assessments listed should offer you some help.

Old 05-16-2009, 11:47 AM

19,081 posts, read 12,566,461 times