U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Colorado Springs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-22-2011, 12:51 PM

17 posts, read 49,068 times

Advertisements

Hey, I'm new to the springs - just moved in a few weeks ago - and I was wondering what people suggest for thrift stores around here.

Primarily I need furniture, but I also work with kids and need to get a bunch of toys and games. Any suggestions for good places?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-22-2011, 01:02 PM

1,438 posts, read 2,031,756 times
There is a used furniture store Platte Furniture. Its not a thirft store, but it has some real good deals. Its one of those places you have to keep going back to to see what they have in. I bought an old Mexican desk and a nightstand there about 6 months ago. Desk was in pretty good shape ($140), and nightstand was brand new looking ($35). Both would have been 10 times that price if I could have found them new somewhere.
Platte Furniture
2331 Platte Place
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
(719) 633-7309

Old 08-22-2011, 01:38 PM

2,854 posts, read 7,024,113 times
I have one word for you. ARC. Good stuff, dirt cheap prices. Hell, I buy half my clothes there.
Welcome To Arc Thrift Stores

The one at Hancock and ACademy has the best selection of nice name brand clothes and furniture, due to it's close proximity for Ft. Carson. Lots of military families prefer to just quickly get rid of stuff, rather than pack it up and move it.

Old 08-22-2011, 05:05 PM

898 posts, read 1,002,408 times