U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Colorado Springs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-13-2012, 11:01 AM

12 posts, read 28,583 times

Advertisements

Hi All,

My wife and I are considering a move from Las Vegas to Denver. My wife is going to take a job in Colorado Springs and I will look for work when I get there. I am an accountant so I'm hoping there are jobs that will be a good fit. I don't believe there will be as much opportunity in CS so I'm thinking we should live in Highlands Ranch and my wife can commute to CS. I have a couple of questions and I'm hoping you guys can provide your thoughts.

1)Is this a doable commute. Mapquest says that its about an hour but I'm not sure that takes into account any traffic.
2) I'm pretty outdoorsy and my wife is getting that way. We have twin 16 month old daughters that I would like to raise with an appreciation for the outdoors. Is there much hiking, biking, etc close to Highlands Ranch.
3) Outside of Vail, Aspen, etc, are there good weekend getaway spots for us.
4) I like to camp and backpack but I'm not fond of campsites. I did a lot of car camping and backpacking in the Smokeys. Is there something similar close to Denver.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-13-2012, 12:02 PM

3,133 posts, read 9,106,824 times
Live in Colorado Springs, don't make your wife do a 2hr+ commute each day.

Plent of jobs in COS with 600k+ metro population.

You'll love it here. I moved from Vegas 4 years ago and don't regret it for a second!

Check out jobs at the following large employers:
- USAA Insurance
- T Rowe Price