U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Colorado Springs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 07:14 AM

27 posts, read 83,709 times

Advertisements

I'm a Junior High ESL (English as a Second Language) teacher, and can teach on-level English from 4th to 8th grade. I've been in Houston for 28 years, and I've hated it for about 26 years. Originally I was a paralegal, made good money at that, had to work downtown (with a horrendous commute). I've been teaching 2 years now, and have my application in to the Colorado Department of Education. Hopefully they'll license me to teach in Colorado, and beginning in March 2007 I'll be interviewing for positions for Fall 2007. My children (who grew up in Houston) are out of the house, one lives in Denver, the other is currently at University of Texas. Now its ME time. I'm 48 years old and single.

Obviously I'll have to move where the jobs are, but I'm praying for a small mountain community (think Conifer, Bailey, Evergreen). Looking for at least an acre of land, with a non-manufactured home on it. As a teacher, my income will be pretty low (I think low 30's is where I'll be to start).

I'm looking for less diversity than Houston (read between the lines here), less pollution and crime, I'm a conservative Christian, and would like a church/ community where I could be active.

Any ideas of the best areas for me? Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-24-2006, 12:17 AM

14 posts, read 73,265 times