U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 01:42 PM

2 posts, read 27,382 times

Advertisements

Where are the best places to move to in Colorado if I want to have a small family farm/large garden? Looking for somewhere with favorable climate, sunlight, good soil, not too dry ... not too large population but within reasonable distance of a hospital (I'm a nurse) and a college (husband works in education). Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-12-2011, 02:38 PM

20,301 posts, read 37,784,136 times
Take a look at this thread, the same issues will apply in much of your case, especially access to water, which is a whole subset of law here in COLO. The whole state is rather dry, though a lot of farming is done (with irrigation) out on the eastern plains of COLO.

Most hospitals and colleges in COLO are along the I-25 corridor, from Pueblo to Fort Collins, plus Durango (a bit pricey) and Grand Junction (western COLO).
- Realtors are welcome here but do see our Realtor Advice to avoid infractions.
- Thank you and enjoy City-Data.

Old 02-12-2011, 05:14 PM

96 posts, read 241,361 times
Sterling? My family has been farming in that area for a long time. Not for everyone, though. It does have a community college and a hospital...

Old 02-12-2011, 05:17 PM

840 posts, read 2,032,832 times
Pueblo county, just east of the city of Pueblo. Great area for farming IF, and only IF, you can buy a piece of land with ag water rights.

Old 02-12-2011, 05:30 PM

10,868 posts, read 41,128,193 times
Bring lots of money.