Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-22-2011, 10:45 PM

2 posts, read 13,068 times

Advertisements

I am a young female and I have been wanting to move to colorado for a while. I am a nurse so I would like to be within 30 mintues to a hospital (with a childrens unit or L&D). I am trying to decide between Denver and Vail. I love to ski, but I also enjoy the city life. Does vail have much of a night life for a younger female? Are both of the cities fairly safe? Cost of living...any difference between the two cities? Is is pretty unrealistic to go skiing a lot when living in denver (even on a nurses schedule..working 3 days a week)? I am used to going out in the DC area, is denver fairly compairable? I also only know a few people out there (in CO), are both cities friendly and easy to meet people? Any answers would be great! Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2011, 11:06 PM

90,297 posts, read 120,694,120 times
As a fellow nurse, I can tell you, you'll have a lot more job opportunties in Denver than Vail. Vail has, I think, one hospital. Denver has many, just google it. If you work 3 days a week you should have no trouble getting in a lot of skiing, even if you live in Denver. I should add, the nursing job situation is more competitive here than other parts of the country, but with current experience, you should do OK.

I'm beyond the "going out/nightlife" scene, but my daughter did a lot of that when she lived in Denver.

Old 05-22-2011, 11:11 PM

5,610 posts, read 23,301,938 times