U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-26-2011, 01:33 PM

2 posts, read 1,864 times

Advertisements

I plan on moving to Colorado in the next 30 days, but I'm having trouble picking a city. I'm 39yrs old, single, and I love the outdoors. My hobbies are hiking and firearms, and being from the South, gardening. I have a degree in Marketing from a university, and a degree in Air Conditioning/Heating technology from a local technical college. I'm from Atlanta, but spent the last 7 years in the "hills" of North Georgia. I have 7 years experience in Heating and Air Conditioning. NATE certified.

Basically I would like to live in a smaller town, within a reasonable driving distance to a major city. I guess anywhere between Ft. Collins and Boulder. Just need some help narrowing down a location. I plan on renting for 1-2 yrs before I purchase a home.

What areas around Denver are most like Athens, GA or Dahlonega, GA.?

Any suggestions will help!

Last edited by Mike from back east; 09-26-2011 at 03:03 PM.. Reason: Merged 2:1
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-26-2011, 07:43 PM

2,798 posts, read 3,499,715 times
If you want a city with a university north of Denver, there are 3 alternatives= Boulder, Fort Collins and Greeley. The first two are somewhat like Athens in that they university towns and pretty liberal with regard to voting but the geography is different and so it is underlying culture. Boulder is very expensive on housing, Fort Collins also has higher rents than Athens. Greeley might be about the same price range on rent.