U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-03-2011, 04:50 PM

1 posts, read 9,881 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone - I've searched the web and plenty of threads in these forums, but yet to find the answer I'm looking for.

I'm currently a resident of Texas, and have been recently blessed with the opportunity to leave this wretched place while retaining my employment as a remote employee. Therein lies the basis for my question.

Requirements for Residency states: "Reside in Colorado for 90 consecutive days".

Colorado Tax documents states that you must pay state tax if you are: "A part-year resident of Colorado with taxable income during that part of the year you were a resident"

I plan to move mid-year. However, since I will not have a new employer in Colorado, there will be no new W2.

So, when exactly am I subject to State Taxes? - The minute I sign the apartment lease, or not until 90 days later?

I just need to know when to have my Texas-based employer begin withholding state taxes.

Thanks in advance for your time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-03-2011, 05:41 PM

19 posts, read 40,743 times