U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-12-2012, 08:30 PM

10 posts, read 13,712 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone, I've been lurking here awhile and decided to make a thread! A little background information on me: 24, male, single, B.S.B.A degree in Management of Information Systems (IT)... I love to ski, mountain bike, hike, rock climb, and pretty much anything outdoors. I've been to Colorado the past few years for ski trips and I am seriously thinking about relocating there.

I've been in Central PA for 3 years now - since I graduated college. I work for the DoD as a Systems Analyst in Inventory Management and feel I've experienced pretty much all Central PA has to offer. I figure I'm young, have no ties to the area, and want to explore the western United States. Colorado is on my map because my Uncle lives there and I want to experience the finest skiing/mountain biking the area has to offer. I'm highly motivated and will start applying to jobs relatively soon. I will not relocate unless a job is locked up first.

I guess I'm looking for any advice/tips/feedback for landing a job out there? Also advice on where to live as a young gun? I'm going to start by applying to just government jobs to see what happens. I can't apply to private industry jobs until July because I'm not fully vested in my 401k yet. So if I have to wait until July, so be it. I will just build up a little nest egg until then.