U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-25-2012, 03:29 PM

1 posts, read 4,914 times

Advertisements

I am currently a New York State teacher certified in Elementary Education and Literacy. I am currently teaching at a Catholic School in Western New York and things are not looking any better to get a public school job here; due to layoffs, closing schools, and declining population. Therefore, my husband and I are looking to move to Colorado July 2013. Does anyone know a good area in Colorado that is growing and will be hiring teachers in my area over the next few years (not laying off)? I checked out the different school districts in Colorado and a lot of them are hiring right now. However, I am not familiar with the areas and financial situations of the school districts since I am not from the area. Since I can not move there until July 2013, I am not sure where I should be looking when I visit. I am planning a trip there August 16-22, 2012 to look at potential areas to live and work in. I am looking for a district that is strong and does not look like they are going to lay teachers off. I would love to live in the suburbs around the Denver area or anywhere within an hour or two of Denver. I am 25 years old; I would like a safe area where I can walk/bike ride to shops and restaurants. I am looking to pay $800-$1200 max to rent a 2 bedroom. This is a HUGE change in our life and we do not know anyone in Colorado to ask these questions. Any information or suggestions are greatly appreciated, thank you!