U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-02-2013, 09:10 AM

1,712 posts, read 3,038,401 times

Advertisements

One of the state standards in teaching music is to educate fourth grade students on prominent Colorado styles and musicians. Since I'm a transplant, I know of a few but I'm not an expert. So far I've taught:

Cowboy Songs
Home on the Range
Get along little dogies

of course
Where the Columbines grow
Rocky Mountain High
If I had a Wagon I would go to Colorado
America the Beautiful

What else would you suggest?

Please remember, these songs need to be school appropriate!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2013, 10:12 AM

8,317 posts, read 25,785,875 times
Well, how about "Colorado, My Home" from the musical "The Unsinkable Molly Brown"? Of course, it was a Broadway score and lyrics written by Meredith Wilson, but it is all about Colorado.

Now, if you want to venture into music performers with strong Colorado connections, here are a few:

Paul Whiteman, from Denver. Considered by many to be one of the white pioneers in jazz, and one of the fathers of the Big Band era. Numerous other Big Band leaders learned under him or worked for him. One who was tutored by Whiteman, and who also lived in Denver for a time, was Jimmie Lunceford, a black musician, who led what was arguably one of the best Big Bands of the era.