U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-18-2006, 08:11 PM

117 posts, read 476,443 times

Advertisements

Hi
Would love to know the general attitude/perception of quality modular constructed homes in Colorado - from the home buyer's point of view to the lenders. I have been researching the various products for a few years now and know that a custom designed modular home is a very viable alternative to a stick built home.

BUT every state has a different attitude to how this type of construction is viewed. In South Carolina million dollar homes are built, banks do not have a problem nor does the resale market. North Carolina - different story - has to be stated in the ad that it is modular and the market perceives them to be inferior. What do the locals feel about modular and are there any reputable companies worth researching?

Thanks to all who take the time to respond to the various requests for info - I love following the posts and we are incredibly excited about our visit this weekend!!!
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-18-2006, 10:04 PM
Status: "Celebrating 30 years as a Broker" (set 20 days ago)

10,883 posts, read 29,313,834 times
depends on the area in question, building one in the foothills seems to be the preferable way to go, in metro Denver you need a lot in a subsivision that is not covenant controlled, but plan on living there for 7 years or more, there is not as much demand for modular homes in Denver.

Old 10-18-2006, 11:10 PM

615 posts, read 2,761,705 times