U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-15-2006, 07:48 PM

93 posts, read 426,247 times

Advertisements

My partner and I currently live in Albuquerque and are planning to head north in the next two years. We are around 30 years old, well-traveled, liberal politics, open-minded, nature-loving, snow-loving, community-loving people. We are exploring many smaller cities and large towns in NM, CO, and CA.

My man is still in grad school (anthropology & urban design), so we don't know yet exactlly what his job needs will be. I am a midwife, so we need to be somwhere where people are having babies! We love being outdoors, so both the immediate nature and easy access to wilderness is important to us. Ultimately we would like to live off-grid, but still close to a vibrant community. We're not interersted in living in a place where everyone is content to live more or less in isolation through the winter.

Thoughts on Pagosa? We have not visited yet, and of course we will learn much from a trip. But in the interim, can anyone comment on:

the politics?

age set? Does it feel more like a retirement community or a family community? Ski bums? Working class?

opportunities to create? We both make art and want to be part of a community that celebrates creativity and expression.

what's the architecture/development like? What is the character like? Is it a large enough town to have suburbs? If so, are they unsustainable eyesores?

Does the town feel alive and vibrant? Is there a sense of community?

Any thoughts are much appreciated!