Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Thread summary:

Moving to Colorado: construction job leads, loans, loan, cost of living, real estate.

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-24-2008, 08:55 AM

34 posts, read 116,883 times

Advertisements

I know that home building is very slow but what about all the other types of construction? Mid rise mixed use res/retail, highrise? I plan on moving next spring to Parker and I am a senior project manager for a company that builds big buildings like the ones that have multi level parking with street level shops and lofts above. I also know how to build homes and anything else as well. Will I be able to find work and feed my family?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-24-2008, 09:36 AM

1,599 posts, read 3,108,404 times
Good luck.

My wife works for the largest law firm in the country, and represents many of the largest developers in the area and the country. From what she tells me is that permits to build have decreased by 50% or more, and that, even for the developers, borrowing money from the banks is getting near impossible, more than likely due to the beating their taking on bad loans.

Old 07-24-2008, 10:07 AM

792 posts, read 3,128,467 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by out of bay or bust View Post
I also know how to build homes and anything else as well. Will I be able to find work and feed my family?