U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-28-2008, 01:30 PM

4 posts, read 8,745 times

Advertisements

My boyfriend and I are looking into moving to Summit County. I am an EMT and he is a Sherriff. Can anyone share some info about the area??

THANKS!!!
Quick reply to this message

Old 12-28-2008, 01:41 PM

1,872 posts, read 5,790,163 times
What kind of info?

LOTS of outdoor activities year-round.
Housing is very expensive.
May or may not have permanent residents as neighbors depending on neighborhood.
Not the stereotypical wilderness setting (think suburbia in the mountains), but wilderness is accessible. On the flip side, this means that most amenities are available without a long drive.
Long winters.

Old 12-28-2008, 02:05 PM

719 posts, read 2,358,829 times
Its your typical mountain ski resort atmosphere. Lots of second homeowners and a somewhat transient workforce.

Old 12-28-2008, 03:17 PM

1,453 posts, read 3,669,213 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by amyd721 View Post
My boyfriend and I are looking into moving to Summit County. I am an EMT and he is a Sherriff. Can anyone share some info about the area??

THANKS!!!
It's all gonna BURN!! Burn, baby, BURN!!

Seriously...have you been following the pine beetle devastation in the area?

In this economy, I don't know how long they'll be able to maintain the current staffing levels of the police & fire agencies. You should at least have a backup plan if you are unable to secure employment in EMS/law enforcement.

Old 12-28-2008, 03:26 PM

9,830 posts, read 19,585,964 times