U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-16-2010, 07:44 PM

6 posts, read 8,656 times

Advertisements

Hey Guys!
I am from Minnesota, and have decided to move to Colorado. I need your suggestions to help me decide the city.
Let me tell you about myself - I am 33, my wife is 30. We have two children - oldest is 5. We are both college grads. My degree is in Computer Science, and my wife's is in Biochemistry. We are a "family comes first" type family. Currently live in Duluth, Minnesota (pop. 85000).

The main reason we decided to move is the weather. We are simply sick of the -20s and -40s, and 2 months of on/off 65-70 that we call summer. Also, we wanted to experience a larger city, but noting like a metropolitan - like Denver.

What we would like is a place where we can live quietly in a family setting and work in the tech/bio-tech/pharmaceutical industry close by. Nightlife/dining is not big of a deal for us. We do like outdoor activities like running/biking etc - but not much into hiking. Would like to avoid ghetto areas at all cost.

We also might move into CO without securing jobs. I have some savings good enough for 6-months at the current living situation. So, would like to avoid expensive areas. Without a job, I can probably afford a 2-br place around $800 + utilities.

From reading some topics in this forum, I am leaning towards Colorado Springs, but would love to know what you think.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-16-2010, 08:37 PM

20,327 posts, read 37,840,000 times